
As most know by now, Ben Roethlisberger is accused of sexual assault. Isn't this the second time that this sort of thing happened to him? Wasn't it only like a year ago that he was accused of the same crime? If so, shouldn't we, the fans, be viewing this as guilty until proven innocent? While I understand that he probably can get many women, and probably does, it's possible that he is enjoying the feeling of superiority that rape is said to produce in the perpetrators.
An interesting question I have is this: if Ben Roethlisberger did sexually assault this girl and he goes to jail for a few years will we treat him the same, worse, or better than we treat Dog Killer Vick? If he is proven guilty realistically, shouldn't we treat him worse. Unlike Vick, these aren't animals that don't know better. This would be a person that has to carry around that shame and guilt for the rest of her life. This person would probably suffer from trust issues if he did do what she is alleging.
Another interesting question is: Do we give Ben Roethlisberger more of our benefit of the doubt simply because he is white? I'm not someone who likes to bring up races in this manner, but it seems apparent that perhaps we are giving him more of a benefit of the doubt than we do for someone like Ray Lewis, who has been found innocent of the murder that he might have committed. Many people felt that Kobe Bryant was guilty of sexual assault as well. So, are we treating these white athletes better than the black athletes? I'd really like to know this. My brain says no since I don't want it to be that way, but my heart says realistically, we are.
The last question I have is this: How would Ben look in the color orange? And will he play a game similar to that in The Longest Yard (is this the movie with Adam Sandler?) where he has to take down the prison guards? I think that could be some pretty cool entertainment.
Tidak ada komentar:
Posting Komentar